Course picks

Best CPA Review Courses (2026)

A CPA review course is the biggest prep purchase you’ll make. Here’s what the major courses say they include, how to compare them, and the free official material to use either way.

Links on this page go to each provider’s official site. We don’t take payment for placement. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases on other pages of this site.

On this page

The picks

Pick 1: AICPA “Learn what to study” — 2026 CPA Exam Blueprints and retired simulations

AICPABlueprints effective January 1, 2026 (free)

What’s inside

  • Uniform CPA Examination Blueprints effective January 1, 2026
  • Content organized by area, group and topic, with score weighting
  • Testlet structure for all six sections
  • Retired AUD and FAR task-based simulations
Best forEvery candidate — it’s the official definition of what’s tested.
Watch outIt’s a blueprint and a few sample simulations, not a course: no lectures and no full question bank.
Visit official site Official product page

Pick 2: Becker CPA Exam Review

Becker Professional EducationCurrent course (2026)

What’s inside

  • Digital textbooks and 900+ concept videos
  • 9,000+ multiple-choice questions and 900+ task-based simulations
  • Simulated exams and mini exams
  • Newt AI academic assistant, with tutoring and success-coaching sessions that vary by package
  • Packages: Concierge, Pro+, Pro and Advantage (unlimited access, except 24 months on Advantage)
Best forCandidates who want a structured, all-in-one course with a large simulation bank and built-in support.
Watch outSupport and access differ a lot between tiers, so compare packages carefully before you buy.
Visit official site Official product page

Pick 3: UWorld Roger CPA Review

UWorldCurrent course (2026)

What’s inside

  • 9,000+ MCQs and 500+ task-based simulations across all six sections
  • 1,400+ video lectures
  • 4 eBooks, with printed study guides in the Elite-Unlimited tiers
  • SmartCards flashcards with spaced repetition
  • Packages: Premier (18-month access, 4 sections), Elite-Unlimited (unlimited access, 4 sections) and Elite-Unlimited+ (unlimited access, all 6 sections)
Best forQuestion-first learners who want a very large MCQ and simulation bank.
Watch outThe base package has 18-month access, shorter than most credit windows, and the pass guarantee applies only to the top tier.
Visit official site Official product page

Pick 4: Gleim CPA Review

Gleim Exam PrepCurrent course (2026)

What’s inside

  • 100+ hours of professor-led video lectures
  • Explanations for both right and wrong answers on every question
  • Full-length mock exams modeled on the real exam’s look, length and topic weighting
  • SmartAdapt adaptive platform that adjusts to your quiz results
  • Personal counselors; Premium, Premium Pro and Traditional packages
Best forCandidates who learn by working lots of questions and want an adaptive study path.
Watch outThe main course page doesn’t list question-bank or simulation counts, so ask before you buy.
Visit official site Official product page

Pick 5: Surgent CPA Review

SurgentCurrent course (2026)

What’s inside

  • Predictive AI technology that measures strengths and weaknesses to build a personalized study plan
  • Pass guarantee: money back if you don’t pass the first time, per Surgent (conditions apply)
Best forBusy candidates who want the course to decide what to study next.
Watch outSurgent’s main pages give few specifics on question counts, simulations or access length — get those details before committing.
Visit official site Official product page

How we picked

Picks are based on publisher-listed contents, alignment with the current exam format (three Core sections, one Discipline, 2026 Blueprints), and currency — not our own testing of every course. Everything under "What's inside" comes from the provider's own course pages as of September 2026. We don't list prices because they change constantly and discounts are everywhere. Where a provider makes a pass-rate or speed claim, we quote it and label it as the provider's claim; we haven't verified any of them.

Side-by-side: what the providers say

CourseQuestion bank (as stated)VideoAccessGuarantee (as stated)
Becker9,000+ MCQs, 900+ TBSs900+ concept videosUnlimited on most packages; 24 months on AdvantagePass guarantee on Pro, Pro+ and Concierge; money-back version on Concierge
UWorld Roger CPA Review9,000+ MCQs, 500+ TBSs1,400+ video lectures18 months (Premier) or unlimited (Elite tiers)Partial refund per failed section on Elite-Unlimited+ only
GleimNot stated as a count on the main page; explanations for right and wrong answers100+ hours of lecturesCheck packageCheck current terms
SurgentNot stated on the main pageNot stated on the main pageCheck packageMoney back if you don't pass the first time, per Surgent

Guarantees always come with conditions (finishing the course, hitting readiness benchmarks, testing within a time limit). Read the fine print before you count on one.

Quick picks by situation

If you…Look first at
Want the most structure and built-in supportBecker (compare tutoring and coaching by tier)
Learn best by grinding questionsUWorld Roger CPA Review or Gleim
Want an adaptive plan that tells you what to study nextGleim (SmartAdapt) or Surgent (predictive AI)
Need long access because you work full timeA package with unlimited access, or one whose access outlasts your credit window
Are retaking a single sectionYour current course's retake terms first — switching mid-exam can cost more than it saves

What actually matters when you compare

  • Simulation volume and quality. TBSs are half the score in five of six sections. A course that's light on sims leaves you exposed.
  • Coverage of your Discipline. Make sure the package includes the Discipline you plan to take (BAR, ISC or TCP), not just the Core.
  • 2026 currency. The course should be built on the Blueprints effective January 1, 2026, and should say which tax year its REG and TCP material covers.
  • Access length vs. your credit window. Most jurisdictions give you 30 months to pass everything. A course that expires before your window closes can force you to pay again.
  • How you learn. Lecture-heavy learners and question-first learners do best with different courses. Use free trials to find out before you commit.

Provider claims, labeled

  • Becker claims its "Exam Day Ready" students "achieve a 64% higher CPA Exam pass rate than all other test takers."
  • UWorld claims "candidates who meet SmartPath benchmarks pass at a 90% rate."
  • Gleim claims "over 1 million CPA exams passed."
  • Surgent claims its students are "exam-ready up to 4x faster than those enrolled in other exam review courses."

These are marketing figures measured each provider's own way, and they aren't comparable to each other or to the AICPA's published pass rates. Use them as a nudge to read the methodology, not as a ranking.

How to get your money’s worth from any course

  • Take the diagnostic, then skip what you know. Most candidates over-watch lectures on topics they already understand.
  • Do simulations every study session, not just in the final review. They're slower, and the only way to get faster is volume.
  • Track misses by Blueprint area so your final review targets the right topics.
  • Schedule the exam before you feel ready. A date on the calendar keeps study time from expanding, and it matters even more for Discipline sections with limited windows.
  • Watch your access end date alongside your NTS and credit window, and ask about extensions before you need one.

Use the free official material too

Whatever you buy, download the AICPA's 2026 Blueprints and work the retired simulations from the AICPA's "Learn what to study" page. They're the most direct look at how the real exam presents tasks. Then take our free CPA practice test to check your pace in each section, and read the CPA Exam guide for windows and credit rules.

More CPA Exam guides

Frequently asked questions

Which CPA review course has the highest pass rate?

There's no independent, apples-to-apples comparison. Each provider measures its own claims differently, so treat them as marketing. Compare what's included, how you learn, and whether access lasts through your credit window.

Do I need a review course to pass the CPA Exam?

It's not required, but most candidates use one because the content is broad and the simulations take a lot of practice. At minimum, use the AICPA's free Blueprints and retired simulations.

Do courses cover all three Discipline sections?

The major courses offer BAR, ISC and TCP, but not every package includes all of them. UWorld's Premier package, for example, covers four sections. Confirm your Discipline is included.

Should I buy printed books or just the online course?

The exam is computer-based, so do most of your practice on screen. Print is a preference — some providers include it only in higher tiers.

Should I try a free trial before buying?

Yes, if the provider offers one. Work a few multiple-choice questions and at least one simulation in each course you're considering, and pay attention to how clear the explanations are and how the interface feels. You'll spend hundreds of hours in it.

Is it worth switching review courses after failing a section?

Sometimes, but diagnose first. If you failed because you didn't finish the material or skipped simulations, a new course won't fix that. If the explanations or teaching style never worked for you, switching for the retake can make sense — check whether your current course offers extended access or retake support first.

Sources & official links

  1. UWorld — Roger CPA Reviewaccounting.uworld.com